Gym newbie…

Today I started the gym. Not a big deal for most people but for me it was. I don’t know why but the thought of being in a gym and working out in front of complete strangers filled me with dread. I remember being extremely athletic in junior school and there is a photo of me in a rather fetching crop top covered in 1st place stickers. As I got to high school, I was heavier than most girls and I hated P.E as my face would be bright red and sweaty after a short period of exercising. 

I started running and I enjoyed it for a while. I tried switching my routes so I wouldn’t get bored, and when I went running with my boyfriend, we would run 3 miles at a time non stop. But I don’t get to see him that often, so we kind of slacked off and haven’t been in some time. A couple of months a go I tried running after a break. As I got around the corner from my house I was completely out of breath and felt very unwell…this was after 1 minute of light jogging. It put me off running completely. My blip was due to an undiagnosed virus, which I knew I had as I felt unwell, but I couldn’t get the motivation to start again.

So I decided to join the gym. My induction was at 1pm and I was joined by two other women. One was in her 40s and the other in her 60s. We were shown around the gym and given a demo of how to work the equipment. The two women had places to go after the induction but I hopped on the nearest equipment and started my gym journey…

 
I was there for about 2 hours and burned over 700 calories. I will be back tomorrow as my other half has his induction. 

Leave a Reply

